Jazz Improvisation

Jazz Improvisation - What is it? - Jazz improvisation is the process of spontaneously creating fresh melodies over the continuously repeating cycle of chord changes of a tune. Composed music and improvised music may seem to be opposites, but in Jazz they merge in a unique mixture.

A Jazz Improvisation Primer by Marc Sabatella - Here you can find information on almost every topic relating to jazz improvisation, from jazz history to music theory to practical advice on playing in a group.

Jazz Instruction Downloads - Paul Rinzler, Cal Poly State University

Free Improvisation.com - Life is one big improvisation.

Jazz Advice - Inspiration for improvisers

JazzBooks.com - Jamey Aebersold Jazz, a great source for finding all kinds of jazz material - play-a-longs, theory books, improvisation instruction, etc...

USC School of Music - Jazz Improvisation I

Guitar Chords plus other cool stuff

Kendor Music Inc. - Over the years Kendor has released thousands of works and has been responsible for introducing to the worldwide jazz education community the music of many award-winning, professional writers including Thad Jones, Toshiko Akiyoshi, Sammy Nestico, Jeff Jarvis, Bob Mintzer, John Fedchock, Frank Mantooth, Maria Schneider and others.

Mr. PC - Youtube video for listening and analysis of jazz combo performance and interaction.

Jazz Handbook (pdf) by Jamey Aebersold - Free Book!


JAZZ CAMPS and HONOR BANDS!

Metro-Detroit Jazz Workshop - http://www.helpwithjazz.com

Jazz Band of America - http://www.musicforall.org/what-we-do/honor-ensembles/jazz-band-of-america

University of Michigan Youth Ensembles - https://www.music.umich.edu/special_programs/youth/mye/MYEgeneralguidelines.htm

Michigan State University Spartan Youth Jazz - http://www.cms.msu.edu/detroit/children/jazz.php

Wayne State University Jazz Week - http://music.wayne.edu/outreach/jazz-week.php

University of Toledo Summer Jazz Institute - http://www.utoledo.edu/al/svpa/music/ensembles/summer_jazz.html

Detroit Symphony Orchestra Civic Jazz Ensembles - http://www.dso.org/page.aspx?page_id=26

Jazz At Lincoln Center Essentially Ellington - http://academy.jazz.org/ee/?gclid=Cj0KEQjw4_DABRC1tuPSpqXjxZwBEiQAhMIp6-FAy99fYvQXNrzcoUyszKgAc9ovHjmRlqcmK8OHBX0aAu_M8P8HAQ

Grammy In The Schools Jazz Camp - http://www.grammyintheschools.com/programs/grammy-camp-jazz-session/auditions

Interlochen Summer Jazz Program - http://camp.interlochen.org/program/music/hs/jazz

Blue Lake Fine Arts Camp Jazz Program - https://bluelake.org/majors/jazz.php

University of Massachusetts Amherst Jazz In July - Jazz In July

National Jazz Workshop - http://www.nationaljazzworkshop.org

Stanford Jazz Workshop - https://stanfordjazz.org/more-info/jazz-camp/

Tritone Jazz Fantasy Camps - http://tritonejazz.com

 

 

 


 

Practice Audio:
12 Bar Blues Etudes (Flute) - mp3
12 Bar Blues Etudes (Trumpet) - mp3
12 Bar Blues Etudes (Guitar) - mp3
12 Bar Blues Etudes (Combo w/Walking Bass) - mp3